Mobile menu

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3 4 5 6 7] >
Am I the only translator who doesn't use TRADOS?
Thread poster: Amanda Tozer

Amanda Tozer
Local time: 13:27
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 22, 2007

I have always endeavoured to keep abreast of the latest technological advancements affecting and/or improving the field of translating, interpreting, etc. I am by no means a troglodite and am a real dab hand with IT and software.
HOWEVER, I have never used Trados. In fact, I am ashamed to admit that I don't actually know what its function truly is. I don't know what "it looks, feels and smells like".
Should I be ashamed? Am I over-the-hill, technically speaking?
Well, I am a freelancer and don't form part of a large agency which can afford to be a licensee of Trados and other computerised translation aids. I have never wanted for work and am fortunate enough to be able to stay afloat financially.
But, I do realise that I miss out on work because of the fact I don't own a copy of Trados and don't know how to use it.
I am becoming a little worried by this and wonder if I am the only one.
I'd be interested to hear your thoughts.
Amanda Tozer

Direct link Reply with quote

xxxJon O  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Dutch to English
+ ...
you are not alone... Sep 22, 2007

I'm a fellow Luddite too..

Amanda Tozer
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Luddites and techno troglodites unite! Sep 22, 2007

ATozer (PhD) wrote:

I have always endeavoured to keep abreast of the latest technological advancements affecting and/or improving the field of translating, interpreting, etc. I am by no means a troglodite and am a real dab hand with IT and software.
HOWEVER, I have never used Trados. In fact, I am ashamed to admit that I don't actually know what its function truly is. I don't know what "it looks, feels and smells like".
Should I be ashamed? Am I over-the-hill, technically speaking?