Line spacing in Word 2007
Thread poster: Ron Stelter
Ron Stelter  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:53
German to English
Oct 10, 2007

Hi,

I'm still learning the new features of Word 2007. I've been asked to recreate a CV from scratch. Everything seems to be going OK otherwise, but when I started typing, the spacing appears to be double-spaced. So I went to Home, then found the line-spacing icon. I changed the line spacing down to 1.0, but it still seemed to be larger than 1.0. Then I went to line spacing options and tried to reduce it with the arrows. Then I changed it to "single". But it still looks too big. Closer to double-space than single-space. I changed my screen view to 100% to try to see for sure. Still looks too big. Am I doing something wrong?

In Word 2007, sometimes it seems it's difficult to see how things actually look unless you print it out. For example, it seems to be very difficult to tell whether something is bolded or not, but you check and it is bolded. Perhaps it just looks double-spaced when it's not???

Thanks.

[Edited at 2007-10-10 17:43]

Direct link Reply with quote

Margreet Logmans  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 02:53
English to Dutch
+ ...
Font? Oct 10, 2007

What font are you using? The character style causes problems sometimes.
Try changing the font (Ctrl-A will select the entire text in one click) and see if the problem persists.

Good luck!

German to English
TOPIC STARTER
That's an interesting observation Oct 10, 2007

It seems to have defaulted to Calibri (body). Whatever that is...with an 11-point font. I will try using Arial or Times New Roman and see if I can get a better result.

Interesting...I tried changing it, including changing the font and also changing it to Times New Roman. The problem seems to still be there, although part of it was a bulleted section and that section now seems to be in perfect single-spacing.

???

[Edited at 2007-10-10 18:09]

Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...