Thread poster: Marco Ramón

Marco Ramón  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 04:02
Member (2007)
English to Spanish
+ ...

Oct 10, 2007

Anybody here is a self-taught translator?
A never ending study is needed, I presume. But is there someone willing to share her or his experience as a self-taught succesful translator? As opposed to those fortunate ones that owe their hability to schools.

It is a competitive business, and degrees mean a lot to clients I should think. But maybe there are some who managed to build themselves a reputation without degrees. Are they around?

[Editado a las 2007-10-10 18:26]

Direct link Reply with quote

Clare Barnes  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 11:02
Swedish to English
+ ...
What is it you need to know? Oct 10, 2007

I'm not sure, but I would guess that the majority of translators are "self-taught". Among my acquaintances those who are self-taught outnumber those who have studied by about 10 to 1. I count myself as successful and have never studied translation...

xxxLatin_Hellas
United States
Italian to English
+ ...
Can you specify, Oct 10, 2007

Marcos,

by degree to you mean specifically a language or a translation degree, or any kind of university degree? For example, though I have credentials in languages, my degrees- and experience - are in other disciplines which have determined what types of translations I do.

In any case, I don't see how anyone can do translations without having studied grammar, whether one has a language/translation degree or not. I have studied many grammars, both with the aid of schools and on my own, and have thoroughly enjoyed it.

Any examples to the contrary? Perhaps a person growing up bilingual with only grade-school level grammar in both languages and translates professionally?

In any case, I think experience, and delivering what is expected, means more to customers than anything else, but of course what is behind that experience certainly counts for a lot.