Would you buy the tool your client ask for?
Thread poster: wachikondi
wachikondi
wachikondi  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:52
English to Japanese
+ ...
Jan 7, 2008

Hi everyone!

It's my first post and I hope to hear opinions from the others.

I've been working in translation industry for almost 10 years but I started doing freelancing jobs only last year. So I am still a newbie in a way.

I was contacted by an agency. My first impression to the agency was somewhat negative - they are one of those with "cheapter the better" policy. They use a certain software for all the translation jobs and their freelancers are requeste
... See more
Hi everyone!

It's my first post and I hope to hear opinions from the others.

I've been working in translation industry for almost 10 years but I started doing freelancing jobs only last year. So I am still a newbie in a way.

I was contacted by an agency. My first impression to the agency was somewhat negative - they are one of those with "cheapter the better" policy. They use a certain software for all the translation jobs and their freelancers are requested to buy the software with their own money. OK, the software itself is not very expensive (75 USD), but I didn't like the idea of investing my money as there is no guarantee that they provide me jobs constantly.

Has any of you experienced something like this? How did you react? What would you do?

I'd appreciate any reply.

Thanks and regards,
wachikondi
Collapse

nordiste
nordiste  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
depends if the software is widely used Jan 7, 2008

If the software is widely in use in the translation business for your language pairs , why not ? It could be a profitable investment.

But if t is just some kind of "home made" tool specific to this particular agency, I suppose I would not buy it unless they garanty (meaning : they sign a contract) for a minimum amount of work to pay for the tool.

Who sells this software ? The agency ?

wachikondi