Mobile menu

Web page translated with Wordfast, but translation doesn't appear on final HTML file
Thread poster: Marta Amigo

Marta Amigo  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:17
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 20, 2008

Hi

I am new with Wordfast. I've just done a training course and I loved the program, but I have a problem. When I translate a web page using wordfast, I do the clean up at the end (as in User Manual) and close the Word file. But when I try to open the original HTML file by double clicking on it hoping to find it all translated, that is still showing the original English.

Has anyone had this problem?

Thanks very much

Marta

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 13:17
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Try saving the DOC as HTML Apr 20, 2008

Marta Amigo wrote:
But when I try to open the original HTML file by double clicking on it hoping to find it all translated, that is still showing the original English.

I don't generally translate HTML in Wordfast, but try this: after you do the cleanup, save the DOC file as HTML (well, actually, save it as "encoded text" and then rename it from DOC to HTML).

United Kingdom
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
That doesn't seem to work... Apr 21, 2008

Thanks Samuel, that doesn't seem to work unfortunately but thank you for your help anyhow.

Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
French to English
Did you ... Apr 21, 2008

Try cleaning up again, just in case ?

Never had this problem, and I translate html with Wordfast on a regular basis.

I wonder if your original html file somehow got "unlinked" from the word file? Did you rename either file, or save either one in a different place on your computer ? If that's the case, try putting the files back in the exact same file path where they were originally stored when you tagged the file. This worked for me once when I had to switch to a new computer mid-project.

United Kingdom