Mobile menu

Asking ProZ.com to create templates of translation agency forms
Thread poster: .alberto
.alberto  Identity Verified

Local time: 08:10
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 12, 2008

As a freelance translator I regularly face requests to enter in "company proprietary forms" always the same information about myself, my experience and so.

What about asking proz.com to create a template where all the necessary information can be available and that the agencies can simply download w/out bothering us with time consuming and repetitive tasks?

Kind Regards
Alberto Sala

[Título editado por el personal o un moderador 2008-06-12 10:56]

[Edited at 2008-06-12 11:01]

Direct link Reply with quote

Chiara Comini
English to Italian
+ ...
sounds great! :-) Jun 12, 2008

I think it would be a good idea.

Niels Stephan  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
The idea behind it Jun 12, 2008

You suggest that instead of you doing the work let them do it.
I see the point, but why do you think they would like that?
What do you think why they ask you to fill stupid forms instead of extracting all said information from your CV?

Oh and btw, I never got a single job or even a contact from "pls fill our form" agencies ....

Henry Dotterer
Local time: 02:10
SITE FOUNDER
Good idea Jun 12, 2008

Alberto Sala wrote:

As a freelance translator I regularly face requests to enter in "company proprietary forms" always the same information about myself, my experience and so.

What about asking proz.com to create a template where all the necessary information can be available and that the agencies can simply download w/out bothering us with time consuming and repetitive tasks?

Kind Regards
Alberto Sala

Thanks, Alberto. We have proposed exactly this sort of thing, ie. a standardized was to represent and transfer the data in profiles.