https://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/107684-getting_trados_certification.html

Getting TRADOS certification
Thread poster: Sara Senft
Sara Senft
Sara Senft  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:18
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jun 12, 2008

It's seeming more and more like I would benefit from getting TRADOS certification. However, I have some questions about it.

1) What does TRADOS do?

2) How do I get certified in it?

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 22:18
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
First you have to buy it Jun 12, 2008

I have been using Trados for a few years, but when I tested my knowledge I didn't pass Level 1. The certification is not easy at all, you need experience and you have to study a lot.
So you better go to the SDL website to find out what it is all about.
Regards
Heinrich

Annelise Meyer
Annelise Meyer  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 21:18
English to French
+ ...
Training vs. certification Jun 12, 2008

Hi Sara,

If you are asking what Trados does, then I am not sure that certification is what you should aim at. As Heinrich says, certification is very hard to obtain, and furthermore I definitely think that some of the questions in it are more for engineers or PMs than for translators.
Besides, there are other ways to get to know the application and to learn how to use it: the first good method is to read the manual and to use it extensively.
After that, if you feel this
... See more
Hi Sara,

If you are asking what Trados does, then I am not sure that certification is what you should aim at. As Heinrich says, certification is very hard to obtain, and furthermore I definitely think that some of the questions in it are more for engineers or PMs than for translators.
Besides, there are other ways to get to know the application and to learn how to use it: the first good method is to read the manual and to use it extensively.