Mobile menu

Student researching translation ethics seeks info on authorship, copyright, etc.
Thread poster: Natalia Millman

Natalia Millman
Local time: 17:43
English to Russian
+ ...
May 10, 2003

Hi,

I am an MSc student in Translation at Imperial College and I am writing a dissertation on the Translation Ethics.

I know that this issue has no limits and at the moment I am not sure what to concentrate on exactly.

However, I am particulary interested in authorship, copyright, the relation between the translator and the client and the source text.

I would appreciate if you share your ideas, as we, translators, always experience ethical problems at some point. I would welcome any suggestions, useful liks or information on resources.

Thanks a lot,

Natalia

Direct link Reply with quote

Kevin Fulton
United States
Local time: 13:43
German to English
Ethical issues May 10, 2003

Although it doesn\'t touch on the issues you raised in your inquiry, our local newsletter has an article this month on ethics for translators. And, ethically, I should disclose that I\'m the article\'s author.

http://www.mitinweb.org

click on \"Newsletter.\"

Kevin

Jana Teteris  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Latvian to English
+ ...
Code of Conduct May 10, 2003

You may find it useful to have a look at the Institute of Linguists\' Code of Conduct.

http://www.iol.org.uk/membership/IoL-Code-of-Conduct.rtf

[ This Message was edited by: jteteris on 2003-05-10 18:42]

Vladimir Dubisskiy  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:43
English to Russian
+ ...
it's Translator's Ethics May 10, 2003

not \'translation\', that what i wanted to note

Henry Dotterer
SITE FOUNDER
Our take... May 10, 2003

This site\'s professional guidelines were distilled by site staff and moderators from the codes of conduct of dozens of associations around the world:

Professional Guidelines

Soonthon LUPKITARO(Ph.D.)  Identity Verified
Thailand
Local time: 00:43
Partial member (2004)
English to Thai
+ ...