interpreting for a phychiatrist
Thread poster: Natalia Samoilova
Natalia Samoilova
Natalia Samoilova
English to Russian
+ ...
Jun 4, 2003

Dear all,
Does anybody know of books or articles about interpreting at the meeting with phychiatrist? Can anybody possibly share your experience of doing interpreting on such occasion?
Thanks,
Natalia.

Patricia Posadas
Patricia Posadas  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:41
English to Spanish
+ ...
I have some experience... Jun 4, 2003

in similar situations.
My advice: be even more invisible than usual! Don't show any feeling at all. Try to do it as if you were 'a machine' a bit like in simultaneous interpretation.

I'd ask not to face the psy or the patient... anyway it's never a good idea to have an interpreter in this situation, I wonder how some psys accept.

Egmont
Egmont
Spain
Local time: 14:41
Afrikaans to Spanish
+ ...
MACHINE Jun 4, 2003

Patricia Posadas wrote:

in similar situations.
My advice: be even more invisible than usual! Don't show any feeling at all. Try to do it as if you were 'a machine' a bit like in simultaneous interpretation.

I'd ask not to face the psy or the patient... anyway it's never a good idea to have an interpreter in this situation, I wonder how some psys accept.

Maybe because those psys think that the interpreter is but a machine...it is my experience, sniff...

Natalia Samoilova
Natalia Samoilova
English to Russian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Why do you need to be even more invisible? Jun 4, 2003

Thank you Patricia!
Could you please explain a bit your point about invisibility. Is it because of the patient or because of the interpreting process per se?

Patricia Posadas
Patricia Posadas  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
Because of the interpreting process Jun 4, 2003

It depends also what kind of psychotherapy it is... but given the importance of interpreting the patient's feelings etc. even the actual words he uses are important.