ProZ.com global directory of translation services
 The translation workplace
Ideas

User
Thread poster: Rony Salles
How to improve listening and interpreting skills?

Rony Salles
Local time: 08:55
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Oct 24, 2009

Hello! Everyone,

I’m dropping these lines just to ask for some suggestions on how to improve listening and interpreting skills. Although I listen to English every day (podcasts, radio etc), I feel I still have to improve in order to be able to do a better job… I’m not a professional translator, that’s my goal. I work as a translator in a company, once in a while I follow Americans business talks.

So, please, if you can share your methods, techniques or whatever is useful to get these skills better, I’ll be quite glad. You can also suggest sites etc.

Ronysalles,

Hugs!

Direct link Reply with quote

Alexandra Goldburt
Local time: 04:55
English to Russian
+ ...
try shadowing Oct 24, 2009

"Shadowing" is an exercise recommended for wanna-be simultaneous interpreters, but it is also good for people who simply want to improve their command of a foreign language.

While listening, try to repeat after the speaker everything he says, word for word. Unless you are a natural at this (a few people are), you'll be surprised how difficult it is at first! But as you continue, you'll eventually master the skill.

Try to listen to something recorded rather than the radio, as you might want to repeat it many times. Listen ones without shadowing, and then listen again and shadow it. You might be surprised to realize how much information you missed when you simply listened, without trying to repeat!

Hope it was helpful. Good luck, and please let me know how it went!

Rony Salles
English to Portuguese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Very good idea! Oct 24, 2009

Alexandra Goldburt wrote:

"Shadowing" is an exercise recommended for wanna-be simultaneous interpreters...