Voice recognition software
Thread poster: rmmateo27
rmmateo27  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 03:22
English to Spanish
+ ...
Dec 16, 2003

Hello, I am a Eng-Spa freelance keen on purchasing a voice recognition software. After some research on the web I have come to the conclusion that IBm Via Voice Pro and Dragon NaturallySpeaking are the best ones. Can anybody cast some light on this matter?
Thanks in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

sabina moscatelli  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2004)
German to Italian
+ ...
Dragon Dec 16, 2003

Hi

I have been using Dragon Naturally Speaking for a couple of years now and I am fully satisfied with it.

Sabina

LuciaC
United Kingdom
Local time: 02:22
English to Italian
+ ...
Sabina Dec 16, 2003

I've always wondered: can you combine this software with CAT tools, Excel, PowerPoint etc? Also, if you overwrite the original text, are you likely to get a mess?
How about tables?

I've read positive opinions about Dragon, but they never really describe how it performs in combination with the various software.

Also, if you have to insert a foreign word, does it recognizes it?

Hope I am not asking too much!
TIA for your opinion.
Ciao
Lucia

Marina Zinno  Identity Verified
French to Italian
+ ...
Dragon Dec 16, 2003

I used dragon and it works fine, I was satisfied with it!
User friendly and quite reliable

ntext  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 20:22
Partial member
German to English
+ ...
Multi-language support? Dec 16, 2003

While we're on the subject: Can these speech recognition products be set up to work in several languages? Specifically, to accept dictation in both English and German?

sabina moscatelli  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2004)
German to Italian
+ ...
Hi Lucia Dec 16, 2003

I regularly use it both with Trados and/or tables, with no problems at all!

Sabina

Robin Salmon  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 12:22
German to English
+ ...
One copy for each language Dec 17, 2003