https://www.proz.com/forum/translator_resources/18265-what_does_it_mean_in_english_q_for_german_speakers.html

What does it mean in English? (Q. for German speakers)
Thread poster: Sam Berner
Sam Berner
Sam Berner  Identity Verified
Australia
Local time: 00:57
Member (2003)
English to Arabic
+ ...
Feb 10, 2004

I am an Arabic into English translator, and this bit was a paragraph in German - I threw it into Systran, but the end part doesn't make sense to me!

PLEASE HELP!

"Bei Vernehmungen bezichtigte der Beschuldigte seinen Vater, die Leiche beseitigt zu haben. Dieses Verhalten wäre aus rechtlicher Sicht straflos, da die Strafvereitelung zugunsten des Sohnes begangen worden wäre. "

Michaela Müller
Michaela Müller
Germany
Local time: 16:57
English to German
+ ...
KudoZ Feb 10, 2004

Hi Sam,

I suggest you use the KudoZ asking form. That way all the German>English translators may help you out very fast. Someone will get KudoZ points for answering, and above all: we all will finally profit from the translation.

Michaela

Sam Berner
Australia
Member (2003)
English to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
It won't take the paragraph :-) Feb 10, 2004

Hi Michaela,

I tried, but it wouldn't let me put the whole paragraph in. I might be simply using it incorrectly, so if you can help....

Sam

Sylvain Leray
Sylvain Leray  Identity Verified
Member (2003)
German to French
Paragraph Feb 10, 2004

Sam Berner wrote:

Hi Michaela,

I tried, but it wouldn't let me put the whole paragraph in. I might be simply using it incorrectly, so if you can help....

Sam

Hi Sam,
You have to put the paragraph in the box "Explanation/More about term". In the box "Term or phrase", you could simply put "End of the following sentence, please" or so.

HTH,
Sylvain

Michaela Müller
Michaela Müller
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Suggestion Feb 10, 2004

Citing the KudoZ rules: "1.3 - Texts longer than 10 words should not be posted as KudoZ questions, but as jobs."