Anybody for Corpus Linguistics?
Thread poster: xxxLia Fail
xxxLia Fail  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 02:47
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 9, 2004

I wonder if anybody is interested in exploring corpus applications to translation?

I studied - and very much enjoyed - CL in 2002/2003. I was particularly interested in possible applications to translation (as opposed to language usage in a more specific sense), and explored this in my thesis. One of my conclusions was that corpus analysis tools - as developed to date - were not particularly suitable for the kind of searches translators have to make. Yet it was fascinating the amount of field-specific knowledge I was able to obtain from an analysis of 500,000 words on macroeconomics. I really felt myself to be quite the 'expert', not only in terms of terminology, but also in terms of my command of the style and language appropriate for this field. I didn't 'read' half a million words, I 'analysed' them!

Most CL discussions, in fact, exclude translators (so what's new!). At the same time, there is a minority interest in CL applications for translators, and a number of people are exploring this possible application.

I am still interested in CL, and have investigated a number of tools available from the web. However, I have two problems: first that I have little time, and second, that I am not exactly computer-friendly, meaning that messing around with software just bores me to death. If there was anybody else interested, I would feel a bit more motivated, as we could experiment and exchange ideas and discoveries.

When I have a minute, I will expand a bit more on the possibilities of CL (for those whose interest has been piqued) and add a couple of links.

Just some statements to begin with: