Mobile menu

Looking for Urdu dictionaries/books
Thread poster: abes_
Feb 10, 2005

I am studying Urdu, and I would like to know what the best dictionaries / verb lists are. Because I have books on grammar etc, but no real place to get my verbs and vocabulary.

Any help would be appreciated.

BTW, I mean physical books, not the ones on the Internet.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-02-10 18:04]

Direct link Reply with quote
shfranke  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:18
English to Arabic
+ ...
Various Urdu learning references exist Feb 10, 2005

You might clarify where you live and how much time you can invest in your commendable self-study of the Urdu language.

What resultant skills or abilities in the Urdu do you want to develop: conversation/social amenities, comprehension, reading of basic Urdu texts, or writing?

Assuming that English is your L1, there are a few bilingual dictionaries and glossaries (usually on specific topics) at specialized bookstores in the US (several here in southern California come to mind), Canada and UK. Try some web searches for bookstores by using meta-search engines such as < >.

If your city is home to a Pakistani community, you might go to that area and look for local bookstores that cater to those customers. You might find some bilingual references they use to enhance or reinforce their English skills.

Re word-processing in Urdu

If you later want to do word-processing with the Urdu cursive RTL script, insure your PC has MS Windows 2000 or XP (XP is much the better of the two OS) and MS Office XP or 2003, as those combinations enable robust and reliable bidirectional work into Urdu script (the RTL drivers are included in the basic CD for those MS Windows OS and some usable Urdu TTF fonts are available online, as I recall).

Re e-mailing text files in the Urdu language