SDL Trados 2006: to buy or not to buy?
Thread poster: Sonia Bartoli
Sonia Bartoli
Sonia Bartoli
United States
Local time: 16:36
English to Italian
Jan 12, 2007

I am rather new to the ProZ forums, so I apologize if by any change I am not posting in the most appropriate section...

I am currently using Trados 7. I have been using Trados pretty much as long as I can remember now. I see there is an "upgrade" deal to SDL Trados 2006 for Trados 7 users, at an attractive price.

So, I am wondering: it is worth upgrading? Any info, pros and cons or advice and considerations anyone would like to share will be greatly appreciated.

... See more
I am rather new to the ProZ forums, so I apologize if by any change I am not posting in the most appropriate section...

I am currently using Trados 7. I have been using Trados pretty much as long as I can remember now. I see there is an "upgrade" deal to SDL Trados 2006 for Trados 7 users, at an attractive price.

So, I am wondering: it is worth upgrading? Any info, pros and cons or advice and considerations anyone would like to share will be greatly appreciated.

[Edited at 2007-01-12 17:54]

[Edited at 2007-01-12 17:54]
Collapse

Viktoria Gimbe
Viktoria Gimbe  Identity Verified
Canada
English to French
+ ...
I got the upgrade but don't see why one would absolutely need it Jan 12, 2007

I got the upgrade when they first launched it. However, all the recent features I am most interested in (commenting, improved QA, ability to translate Word files in TagEditor) were already there in version 7.0 and 7.1 (which was a free upgrade) and haven't really noticed any improvement for my personal use of Trados with version 7.5.

I am not sure which features are most important to you and how you use Trados. What I'd recommend you do is look at what SDL says is new in 7.5 and se
... See more