A Trados Virgin (would welcome experienced advice)
Thread poster: Berni Armstrong

Berni Armstrong  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:50
English
+ ...
Nov 20, 2002

Hi all,

I have been putting it off for months, but at last I decided I cannot afford to just continue ignoring Trados and hoping it goes away. As a working translator, I recognise that, at the least, I should be *familiar* with the programme, since more and more clients are asking for such familiarity.

So, I downloaded the demo of 5·5 Freelance from the Trados site... 92 megas.. took a wee while.... and.... seem to have just confirmed my worst fears...

The set up phase went smoothly, and I even followed the tutorial on Workbench, that I also downloaded, before getting down to business.

However, I have had problems with the programme itself - first the \"buttons\" that appear above the text (in Word) are difficult to read. On my computer they show up dark red on black! Not at all like those shown in the tutorial.

Then, sometimes when I pasted answers into the yellow box, the text often appeared ABOVE the box.

Then, occasionally, the blue box was

reproduced twice and the programme refused to move on (Ctrl +) when told to

do so and I had to start that file from scratch.

I also understood that I would only see the translation (unless requested otherwise) - but in fact the way mine appears to be set up you can see the original AND the translation, one after the other. Is that normal?

So I\'m not terribly impressed by Trados so far. Still, I accept that it might be me. When I get the hang of it, perhaps I will bless its name.

Meanwhile, could I ask the more experienced Trados users if the problems I am experiencing have any obvious solution... Are they in fact normal, or is this my Gremlins haunting me again? (My copy of Software often does things that no other copy has been reported as doing...)

Thanks in advance for any input,

Berni

Slightly Soiled Trados Virgin.

Direct link Reply with quote