Mobile menu

Looking for tips on Wordfast and group buys
Thread poster: enska
enska
Icelandic to English
Oct 30, 2007

Hi,

I'm a freelance translator and just getting started with translation tools. I've been perusing the posts here and also asking around for recommendations, and it seems that a lot of people like Wordfast for its interface and also because it's relatively easy on the budget.

I've got a fairly large database of translations already and am wondering whether the translations I've already completed can be entered into the new Wordfast database? Or do I have to start from scratch by using it, and build up the database that way?

Also, I've noticed something called 'group buying' here on the site (as you see, I'm just starting to look around on ProZ too) and am wondering how that works. Clearly it means a better deal on purchases, but does anyone have any experience with it - good or bad? If a purchase is made in that way, does each individual customer get issued a receipt to use for tax purposes, for example? And how long does one normally have to wait until the purchaser quota is filled?

Grateful for any advice. Many thanks.

Alda

Direct link Reply with quote

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 21:53
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Adding old translations to Wordfast Nov 4, 2007

enska wrote:
I've got a fairly large database of translations already and am wondering whether the translations I've already completed can be entered into the new Wordfast database?

Yes. The Wordfast "database" is called a TM (translation memory) and you can add the old translations to it using a process called "alignment". Alignment can be done with PlusTools, which can be downloaded from the Wordfast web site for free.