Jon Reynolds
Jon Reynolds  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:49
German to English
+ ...
Feb 19, 2008

Hello,

I am freelancer based in the UK. Just wondering if anyone has any hints or tips regarding professional indemnity insurance, or any companies that they would recommend.

As I'm only starting out at professional translation I am not sure how much I will be translating in a year so it is hard to estimate the level of cover I would need.

Have searched through the forums but not been able to find much on insurance.

Any help much appreciated!... See more
Hello,

I am freelancer based in the UK. Just wondering if anyone has any hints or tips regarding professional indemnity insurance, or any companies that they would recommend.

As I'm only starting out at professional translation I am not sure how much I will be translating in a year so it is hard to estimate the level of cover I would need.

Have searched through the forums but not been able to find much on insurance.

Any help much appreciated!

Thanks,

Jon.
Collapse

Claudia Alvis
Claudia Alvis  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 10:49
Spanish
+ ...
You probably won't need it Feb 19, 2008

Hello Jon,

At least here in the States, Professional Insurance is not that expensive. The last time I checked, it was less than $15 dollars per month for Business Liability for up to $1mill, I think that's the minimum. But chances are you probably won't ever need it.

Some clients include a Professional Insurance clause in their Agreements, but it's usually there for Language Vendors not Freelancers. I've only seen these clauses 2 or 3 times, and in all cases, I was able
... See more
Hello Jon,

At least here in the States, Professional Insurance is not that expensive. The last time I checked, it was less than $15 dollars per month for Business Liability for up to $1mill, I think that's the minimum. But chances are you probably won't ever need it.