Mobile menu

Looking for Translation Software w/ dictionary & other functions
Thread poster: Francisco S
Francisco S
English
Feb 24, 2008

Hello Community,

I'm new to translation. I've done some translations in the past, but recently I accepted a rather large contract (about 38,000 words). The problem is that I will be going away for a few months, and planned on doing a majority of the translation work on the road, so to speak. Therefore, I will not have access to online resources, such as dictionaries and so forth. I should mention that I have never seriously used "resources" in the past in any case, other than a dictionary, so I guess I'm looking for a software that as a minimum has an extensive dictionary, but that might be able to do other useful translation functions.

In summary, I'm looking for a software that has:

--French-English dictionary
--other useful functions for translation, not sure what those would be because of my inexperience (grammar?).

I've done some preliminary research but have encountered too much information to sift through, so I thought I would ask advice from professionals.

Thank you,

Francisco

[Título editado por el personal o un moderador 2008-02-24 16:54]

[Título editado por el personal o un moderador 2008-02-25 01:29]

Direct link Reply with quote

Vito Smolej
Germany
Local time: 03:33
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
travelling and translating too, eh;)? Feb 24, 2008

FI'm new to translation. I've done some translations in the past, but recently I accepted a rather large contract (about 38,000 words). The problem is that I will be going away for a few months, and planned on doing a majority of the translation work on the road, so to speak.

I can 't say anything about the major part of the question (ENFR dictionary), but about the translation software I would suggest OmegaT. You can add the glossary (glossaries) to it on the go.

Francisco S
English
TOPIC STARTER
response to Vito Feb 25, 2008

Vito Smolej wrote: