Thread poster: Juliana Brown

Juliana Brown  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 13:54
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Nov 1, 2007

I have been trying to establish my candidacy in order to be eligible to sit the certification exam in February. My degree is not in translation, although it involved a lot of translation (Ph.D. in Comparative Literature) and so I understood I would have to prove four years of full time translation work.
Great! I have this experience, but as freelancer I do not have any single client for whom I have worked full time, and for sure not for four years.
No matter how many times I explain to the party responsible at the ATIO, they keep sending me the same reponse- "Please send two letters showing that you have worked full time in translation for a period of four years".
I am at my wits' end (though I admit, I did not have far to go). Any ideas?
Thanks!

[Titlu editat de un membru al personalului sau de un moderator 2007-11-01 16:52]

Direct link Reply with quote

Alexandra Scott  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2006)
Italian to English
+ ...
Obtain letters from several agencies Nov 1, 2007

Hi Juliana,

In order to establish four years' activity in translation, I would contact the various agencies and clients for whom you have worked, and ask them to provide a reference for the relevant period of time.

It should not be a problem that you are providing more than two letters, I think.

Israel
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I tried to ask Nov 1, 2007

the contact person if that would be acceptable, to show that I have been active for the period mentioned, but all I got in response was "if you are not sure, you should contact us". I thought that was what I had done!
I am just wondering how they plan to calculate the hours, words, etc. unless I give them ALL my clients, etc. which would be a lot.
Someone mentioned something about a dossier once. Have you heard about gaining eligibility through a dossier exam?