excellentwork  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:07
English to French
+ ...
Jun 17, 2008

Hello everyone,

I'm rather new to Wordfast so that might be an easy answer for you to give me:

I translated two documents which contents are quite related and sometimes similar.
Before I made the translation, I analyzed each document separately to give a quote to my client.
My client made some minor changes to the documents and, now that the translation is completed, I wanted to re-analyze the revised original documents.
I am very puzzled as the results are completely different as the ones I first had and used for my quote.
I tried to analyze the original documents again, I tried to desegment them, to re-download them in case I'd had made a mistake while de-segmenting, I tried to use a blank TM, then to use again the TM I had used. Nothing changes. The difference stays the same and is very different from the original analysis.
Initially, the analysis gave quite a lot of repetitions, now there are only a few, which seems too few, given my knowledge of the translation..

I now don't know what to do and I should invoice my client...

If you know how I could solve this, please help me as I am having a hard time trying to understand what I did wrong..

Otherwise, just let me know the normal procedure, as I cannot get enough informations from the manual in that matter.

thank you very much in advance

Direct link Reply with quote

Dragomir Kovacevic  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 17:07
Italian to Serbian
+ ...
try with the "Compare" function in Plustools Jun 20, 2008

first of all, maybe you would really need to know what the changes were in the two documents. and you can try using PlusTools for that.

as well, you can compare two documents, as files, in your text editor.

then you can even extract the translatable text with the Wf's function: Tools-Extract. you'll obtain two parts of the same file, the repeating and non-repeating part.