Mobile menu

Extracting ms word files prior to aligning
Thread poster: howard carter

howard carter
Local time: 07:59
Spanish to English
Sep 11, 2008

On extracting word files using "tools" in wordfast, the text file which is generated is only a fraction of the original file size making alignment impossible. I am using vista with office 2007 and wordfast 5.53. I am new to wordfast so it is conceivable (and more than likely) that there is an important step I have missed. Any help would be most gratefully received, H.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jorge Payan  Identity Verified
Colombia
Local time: 01:59
Member (2002)
German to Spanish
+ ...
Using a separate aligner may be better Sep 12, 2008

By now I have almost 5 years working with WF. I simply desisted of using the aligner in PlusTools because of its complexity, in sharp contrast with the easiness of WF.

What I use instead is the TS2000 Align from the long time ago defuncted Cypersoft. It is exactly "abandonware" ( I love this term), is free and very easy to use. I can send you both the program and the key if you contact me privately.

Saludos

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I sometimes have this problem too Sep 12, 2008

howard carter wrote:
On extracting word files using "tools" in wordfast, the text file which is generated is only a fraction of the original file size making alignment impossible.

Yes. I also have that problem. Some earlier versions of WF didn't have this problem. Hopefully the next version won't have it either. Such is life with WF... all public releases are buggy, so choose your preferred bug and choose your preferred version

If you extract the text using WF 3.35x (ask around for it) or WF 4.22t22 (available from the WF web site), you can still use the latest version of PlusTools to align it.

Unlike Jorge, I find PlusTools' aligner infinitely easier to use than Cyperssoft's.

howard carter
Spanish to English
TOPIC STARTER