Thread poster: Jordan Duff
Jordan Duff
Japan
Local time: 11:49
Japanese to English
+ ...
Feb 6, 2009

Hello,

I am new to wordfast and CAT tools in general and would really appreciate if someone would help me out with a few basic questions.

1) If I am translating an excel file, and I have a glossary in excel format, how do i automatically translate everything in the target excel document which matches the glossary?

2) When I translate something in the source text in one place, how do I translate it again automatically further down in the document?

3) How do I know how many 100% and non-matches I have at the end of a project? Is this calculated automatically along the way? How is this information represented to a client who uses Trados once I send them the complete translation?

Thank you very much in advance.

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2009-02-06 18:09 GMT]

Direct link Reply with quote

Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 03:49
Member (2004)
Italian to English
Might help Feb 6, 2009

Hi Jordan

I'm not a newbie but I'm only a very basic Wordfast user.
1) I don't use the glossary function but I don't believe there is anything automatic about it; you just search it as required.
2) If you have a repeated segment, it should appear automatically as a 100% match.
3) You should do the analysis before you start; Tools, Tools, Analyze
I gather the Wordfast website offers online tutorials.

Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 04:49
French to English
guidance Feb 7, 2009

1) If I am translating an excel file, and I have a glossary in excel format, how do i automatically translate everything in the target excel document which matches the glossary?