Thread poster: Terese Whitty

Terese Whitty
United States
Local time: 20:52
Member (2004)
English to Swedish
Feb 13, 2004

Hi!
I am new to Wordfast. Now I received a large project in PDF-format. I understand that it is possible to import the PDF-file to Wordfast, but when I do it I just get different symbols instead of words. Anyone know how to do this? Grateful for tips.

Direct link Reply with quote

Andrzej Lejman  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:52
German to Polish
+ ...
It is not possible Feb 13, 2004

Please search this forum for dozens of earlier postings on converting .pdf files to Word files.
Best regards
Andrzej

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
If it's text, enable KeepPDFFonts Feb 13, 2004

Hi Terese,

There's really nothing to it once you know how it's done.

Open the PDF file and try if you can select the text. If you can't the PDF is protected or consists of pictures only. In that case Wordfast is of no use. If you can select the text, Wordfast can save you a lot of time.

With the PDF still open, open Word, enable KeepPDFFonts in Pandora's Box and Start a Wordfast session in an empty Word document. Wordfast will warn you it's found a PDF document and asks you if you want to import it.

If Wordfast only imports the first page. Ctrl+A and delete the results, switch to your Reader and make sure Page Layout is Continuous. Start a new Wordfast session. Keep trying until it works, it always does.

Consider enabling OptimisticPDF in Pandora's Box too. Sometimes the results are better, often not.

Good luck,
Gerard

Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
German to Dutch
+ ...
Wordfast saves time, it doesn't perform miracles Feb 13, 2004

Andrzej Lejman wrote:

Please search this forum for dozens of earlier postings on converting .pdf files to Word files.
Best regards
Andrzej

Hi Andrzej,