https://www.proz.com/forum/wordfast_support/23649-wordfast_and_arabic_language.html

Wordfast and Arabic language
Thread poster: linadia
linadia
linadia
French to Arabic
+ ...
Aug 8, 2004

Hello,

I'm using Wordfast for an En>AR translation and somehow it gives me non-Arabic symbols in some parts of the translation, which makes the translation looks totally distorted!
Usually the first three or four words only appear right, then the rest is simply a bunch of question marks!

I've chosen "Unicode" for the translation memory, but I have to admit I'm just a beginner and don't know much about this tool.

Can anyone help with that?
... See more
Hello,

I'm using Wordfast for an En>AR translation and somehow it gives me non-Arabic symbols in some parts of the translation, which makes the translation looks totally distorted!
Usually the first three or four words only appear right, then the rest is simply a bunch of question marks!

I've chosen "Unicode" for the translation memory, but I have to admit I'm just a beginner and don't know much about this tool.

Can anyone help with that?

Thanks

nadia

P.S. I've posted this same topic in Arabic forum, but it didn't appear there.
Collapse

Rahi Moosavi
Rahi Moosavi  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:21
Member (2004)
English to Persian (Farsi)
+ ...
Try Setting a Target Font Aug 8, 2004

I remember having the same problem translating from English into Farsi. Try setting a font like Tahoma in :

SETUP>COL>TARGET FONT

Also make sure you have set this:

SETUP>GEN>WHEN TRANSLATING, SET TARGET SEGMENT LANG. TO: Word's default language.

Hope this helps.

linadia
linadia
French to Arabic
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
A brand new problem: error during load Aug 9, 2004

Hello,

Thank you Rahi for your reply. I tried to follow your instructions but got stuck with a new problem.

Whenever I click the segmentation icon (next icon) it gives me "errors occurred during load" message.