Valeria Ricciardi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:24
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
Apr 21, 2005

Dear all,

I am a beginner with WordFast 4.0 and I need to send a TMX file worked out with Wordfast. At the beginning I obtained a TXT file and I tried to convert it into a TMX one using the Export tab in WF set-up view. I sent it to the client (who uses Trados, I presume) but the TMX I created doesn't seem to work. Is there a step I missed in reating this file?

thanks a lot for your precious help!

valeria

Direct link Reply with quote

Bruno Magne  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:24
English to French
+ ...
TMX is a format Apr 21, 2005

for Translation memories, not for text documents.

If you are talking about sending an unclean file, your client should be able to open a .txt file with Trados.

Cheers

Bruno Magne

Valeria Ricciardi  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2005)
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
TMX translation memory Apr 21, 2005

Hi Bruno.

I was talking about sending a TM. They wanted it as a .TMX while I sent it as .TXT but once I converted it into .TMX they told me it was still no good. I can't understand if there's still something wrong with it or simply they don't know how to handle that TM for some reasons.

Thanks!

Bruno Magne  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:24
English to French
+ ...
Something is wrong Apr 22, 2005

If you did export your TM as a .tmx file, your client should be able to open it.

If you wish and are not in a hurry and there is nothing confidential, send me your .tmx file through Proz so that I can have a look at it.

Cheers

Bruno

xxx00000000
English to French
+ ...
.tmx Apr 22, 2005

First, is there any reason you're using Wordfast 4.0 rather than the more stable 4.22?

Second, you say you *converted* your .txt file into .tmx. It's not clear what that means. You should open Wordfast, open the TM you want to export, and choose Export TM with the option TMX selected.