revert to bilingual file
Thread poster: lizzy g

lizzy g  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:03
Italian to English
Jun 2, 2006

Hello,

As my previous post would suggest, I'm no Wordfast expert!

My problem is this: I have used Wordfast to translate a document which I then 'cleaned' and saved. The client now wants me to send the bilingual file but now I can't seem to get back to this file. I do have the back up file (BAK File) but I don't think this is what the client wants.

Has anyone got a solution?

Many thanks,
Lizzy

Direct link Reply with quote

Sonja Tomaskovic  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 01:03
English to German
+ ...
BAK file Jun 2, 2006

The BAK file is what your clients wants. Open it in Word and save as doc.

Sonja

xxxNicolette Ri
French to Dutch
+ ...
No, not necessarily Jun 2, 2006

Some clients want a real bilingual file - one sentence or paragraph in the original langage and the translation underneath, in another colour. I asked this question to M. Champollion some times ago, and he had no solution. The only thing is to take the original file and the translation, and to do some copying and pasting. Theoretically it is possible to treat the .bak file (change fonts, insert line breaks, make text not hidden, etc), but this is rather complicated. If the bilingual file has to be delivered in two colums, you can try to create an Excel file or a new Word file with two columns, and paste the text in it.
I know this answer doesn't help very much!
Good luck

Italian to English
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks! Jun 2, 2006

Thanks for your advice, Sonja. I have done as you suggested!

Lizzy

Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
I always save different versions of my files Jun 2, 2006

lizzy g wrote:
My problem is this: I have used Wordfast to translate a document which I then 'cleaned' and saved. The client now wants me to send the bilingual file...

I always keep the following copies of my files: