Wf segment markers and changing TM to Trados
Thread poster: Nicholas Stedman
Nicholas Stedman
Nicholas Stedman  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 11:26
French to English
Jul 27, 2006

I have been using Wordfast for 18 months now and have always had a major problem with the segment marker for the end of the target segment. This marker seems to be intimately related with the last character of the target segment which is often of course a punctuation mark. This has several consequences.
When I switch the order of words and place a new word between the last word of the segment and the segment marker the text segmentation goes haywire when I move on to the next segment and I
... See more
I have been using Wordfast for 18 months now and have always had a major problem with the segment marker for the end of the target segment. This marker seems to be intimately related with the last character of the target segment which is often of course a punctuation mark. This has several consequences.
When I switch the order of words and place a new word between the last word of the segment and the segment marker the text segmentation goes haywire when I move on to the next segment and I have to edit the segment markers.
It also means that very often target segments go into the TM without their last letter or the punctuation mark.
Does anyone have similar problems?

Incidentally , because of this very annoying problem which doesn’t occur with Trados, I wanted to change but found that it is very difficult to transfer my Wf translation memories as the language codes are different. To change them by doing a find-replace is impossible as once the TM have been converted to TMX format they don’t open in Word. They can only be opened in “notepad” and find-replace with notepad takes hours and hours and my computer blocs beforehand.

[Edited at 2006-07-27 10:30]
Collapse

Bryan Crumpler
Bryan Crumpler  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:26
Dutch to English
+ ...