Glossary terms are intermittently not highlighted
Thread poster: Alexandre Coutu

Alexandre Coutu
Canada
Local time: 19:35
English to French
Sep 27, 2006

I use Wordfast's lastest version.
I am no pro, but it works well for me and there's usually no problem.

However, lately, terms entered into a selected glossary do not always appear highlighted. This can be puzzling because I sometimes know for a fact that the word is in the glossary and I have to do a search to find it.

Sometimes I go up to the previous segment and back down and the term is highlighted. Sometimes not.

Sometimes I go and reorganize the glossary and it becomes highlighted (I thinks this always works). I used to think this happened after adding a word in the glossary but I now know it happens when the glossary hasn't been modified.

The glossary contains about 2300 words. All 3 glossaries selected probably contain about 4000-5000 words.

Is it possible that Wordfast doesn't have the time to check all the glossaries between one segment and the other?

Any clues will be appreciated.

Direct link Reply with quote

Jörgen Slet  Identity Verified
Estonia
Local time: 03:35
English to Estonian
+ ...
ancient problem Sep 27, 2006

The problem is as old as the rocks of Thames. Or is it rocks of Seine or Nile for Wordfast ? I don't recall a version that finds ALL the glossary matches. In most versions selecting the word and pressing Ctrl-Alt-G finds the match that you know to exist, but you then have to copy it from the glossary toolbar.

[Edited at 2006-09-27 19:25]

Alexandre Coutu
Canada
English to French
TOPIC STARTER
Disappointment Sep 27, 2006

Thanks for your answer, Jorgen. I have to say this is quite disappointing... I was hoping to solve the solution!

Mind you, I was also considering buying Wordfast but if can't even find terms in my glossary...

A

Jörgen Slet  Identity Verified
Estonia
Local time: 03:35
English to Estonian
+ ...
I find it quite worth the investment Sep 28, 2006