Wordfast support for password-protected TM?
Thread poster: Jan Sundström
Jan Sundström
Jan Sundström  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 11:26
English to Swedish
+ ...
Oct 10, 2006

Hi all,

As a Wordfast newbie, I wonder if WF has any support for password protected TMs?

I'm thinking of two scenarios:
1. I have a Trados TM, that is password protected. I want to send it to a WF user, but he shouldn't be able to unlock it.
2. Can a translator in WF create a password protected TM himself? I what format would it be, and is it compatible with any other CAT tool?

Thanks a lot for all feedback in this subject!

/Jan

Gerard de Noord
Gerard de Noord  Identity Verified
France
Member (2003)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Wordfast has no support for password protected TMs Oct 10, 2006

Wordfast doesn't in any way support password protected TMs.

Regards,
Gerard

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Tell me why... Oct 11, 2006

Jan Sundström wrote:
I have a Trados TM, that is password protected. I want to send it to a WF user, but he shouldn't be able to unlock it. ... Can a translator in WF create a password protected TM himself?

Tell me why anyone would like to lock a TM, please? The value of a TM is in more than the fuzzy matches. The TM is also useful for context searches. But if you want to lock a TM, you probably want to do it because you're in too much of a hurry to remove the TUs that the translator won't be needing, right? Why can't you just extract all text from the document to be translated, pretranslate it, and send a minimalised TM to the translator that is based on that extracted text alone?

The WF TM format is open. You can't lock it.

Jan Sundström
Jan Sundström  Identity Verified
Sweden
English to Swedish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Time constraint Oct 11, 2006

Samuel Murray wrote:

Jan Sundström wrote: