TTX files
Thread poster: Britt Laux
Britt Laux
Britt Laux  Identity Verified
Local time: 15:37
German to Norwegian
+ ...
Nov 7, 2007

I have been using Wordfast for 2 years now and I'm very happy with the tool. It is easy to learn and use, and up to now I could get the same jobs as if I had had Trados. But suddenly the format TTX appeared. I learned about TTXpress, but as I understand, it is not so easy to use.

How often is this format used? Is this the point where I should get Trados and give up Wordfast?

Advise or comments, anyone?

Roman Bulkiewicz
Roman Bulkiewicz  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:37
Member (2004)
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
TTXpress IS easy to use Nov 7, 2007

BrittDL wrote:

I learned about TTXpress, but as I understand, it is not so easy to use.

Why? Press a button, choose a file (TTX), and there you are - you got an RTF which you can translate with Wordfast. When you are done, press another button, choose your RTF - you have your TTX translated. What can be easier?

However, "blind" conversion (if you don't have Tageditor to open TTX) is a dangerous thing. There can be errors with conversion, and sometimes Wordfast skips segments in the converted RTF file, so you may need to do some "manual adjustments". Perhaps trial version of Trados will be sufficient for this.

Yet another thing is that Trados and Wordfast-segmented documents are not fully compatible. E.g., Wordfast cannot process footnotes, while Trados (2007) can.

Is this the point where I should get Trados and give up Wordfast?

Why, you can get Trados and keep using Wordfast.

Izabela Szczypka
Izabela Szczypka  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Polish
+ ...
But it can! Nov 7, 2007

Roman Bulkiewicz wrote:
E.g., Wordfast cannot process footnotes, while Trados (2007) can.

The only problem is that it does not open the headers/footers automatically - you must get there manually. But as soon as you are inside, everything works OK.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified