https://www.proz.com/forum/wordfast_support/90788-wf_552zd_various_problems_is_it_just_me.html

Wf 5.52zd various problems, is it just me?
Thread poster: Tony M
Tony M
Tony M
France
Local time: 12:46
French to English
+ ...
SITE LOCALIZER
Nov 30, 2007

I'm a relative beginner with W/F, I've only just paid for the registered version in order to use it for the first time in earnest on a 'proper' job. I'm using Word 2003 under XP.

It seems to me that I'm encountering certain problems that I didn't have with earlier versions (I've been dipping in and trying it out every now and again for ages!)

Because of my inexperience, it would be immensely helpful if someone could tell me if I'm just doing something wrong, or if I'm e
... See more
I'm a relative beginner with W/F, I've only just paid for the registered version in order to use it for the first time in earnest on a 'proper' job. I'm using Word 2003 under XP.

It seems to me that I'm encountering certain problems that I didn't have with earlier versions (I've been dipping in and trying it out every now and again for ages!)

Because of my inexperience, it would be immensely helpful if someone could tell me if I'm just doing something wrong, or if I'm expecting too much — or maybe if it's a quirk or an issue.

1) Sometimes, I have validated a segment, and then in the light of the next segment, decide I would like to concatenate the 2 and start the segment again. But apparently, once a segment has been validated, there is no way I can find that will allow me to expand it.

2) A related problem: if I have a proposed segment that is too long, I can highlight the bit I want and use 'Force Segment' — but sometimes, it's the reverse, and nothing I can do will seem to expand the segment right out so that I can then highlight the bits I want. No, I am not running up against a LR or HR... and I have tried playing around with the segment delimiters in use.