Is this TM active?
Thread poster: Alice Klingener
Alice Klingener
Alice Klingener  Identity Verified
Local time: 22:24
Swedish to English
+ ...
Feb 20, 2008

This is my first time working with a TM sent by a client, so please bear with me. I received a TM file, called WFMemory_Clientname.txt I put it in my TM folder, fired up WordFast, and selected this file as the active TM. So far, so good.

The document I am to translate it quite brief, and so far WF is not making *any* match suggestions, so I don't know if this TM is doing what it is supposed to do. Is there some way to make sure it's active, and that I'm using the client's preferred
... See more
This is my first time working with a TM sent by a client, so please bear with me. I received a TM file, called WFMemory_Clientname.txt I put it in my TM folder, fired up WordFast, and selected this file as the active TM. So far, so good.

The document I am to translate it quite brief, and so far WF is not making *any* match suggestions, so I don't know if this TM is doing what it is supposed to do. Is there some way to make sure it's active, and that I'm using the client's preferred vocabulary?

I don't have a sense yet of how likely it is that WF would suggest a match, since I've just started using it recently.

Any advice/feedback appreciated, thanks!
Collapse

Lori Cirefice
Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 04:24
French to English
a few things Feb 21, 2008

Under the select TM button, you have the "reorganize" button, try doing that at the start of a translation session.

Also, have you discovered context search ? Try highlighting a word and then Ctrl+Alt+C and it will bring up a list of contexts in the TM where that word is found. Even if you aren't getting any 100% matches from this TM, the context search can still help search the TM for your client's preferred terminology.

Did you do an analysis with the TM active?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)