KudoZ home » Japanese to English » Sports / Fitness / Recreation

プレイング4

English translation: Zenshin Yonda (also 'Play Four')

Advertisement

Login or register (free and only takes a few minutes) to participate in this question.

You will also have access to many other tools and opportunities designed for those who have language-related jobs
(or are passionate about them). Participation is free and the site has a strict confidentiality policy.
GLOSSARY ENTRY (DERIVED FROM QUESTION BELOW)
Japanese term or phrase:プレイング4
English translation:Zenshin Yonda (also 'Play Four')
Entered by: Troy Fowler
Options:
- Contribute to this entry
- Include in personal glossary

03:03 Aug 11, 2006
Japanese to English translations [Non-PRO]
Art/Literary - Sports / Fitness / Recreation / Golf pharse
Japanese term or phrase: プレイング4
This is aphrase pronounced from a hand-held golf narrator that gives advice to a golfer on hole-conditions.

1打目がOBの場合、特設ティよりプレイング4です。

What does it mean by プレイング4?

Thank you.
Troy Fowler
United States
Local time: 05:32
Zenshin Yonda (also 'Play Four')
Explanation:
Describes when you hit a ball out of bounds from a tee shot, and play on from halfway down the course as if it were your fourth shot.

This is apparently a Japan-only rule.
http://feature.blog-city.com/golf.htm


--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 54 mins (2006-08-11 03:57:40 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

前進4打

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 1 hr (2006-08-11 04:10:13 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

ティーショットがOBだった時、原則的には一打罰で打ち直しである。それを、どこの誰が始めたのか知らないがフェアウェイの特設ティなるものから打ち直しさせるという、日本独自の田舎ルール。もちろんplaying fourも和製英語。

http://golfnahibi.uh-oh.jp/jiten2.htm
Selected response from:

casey
United States
Local time: 08:32
Grading comment
Thank you.
4 KudoZ points were awarded for this answer

Advertisement


Summary of answers provided
5 +3Zenshin Yonda (also 'Play Four')
casey
1Playing your 4th shot on a given hole???
Joe L


Discussion entries: 2





  

Answers


41 mins   confidence: Answerer confidence 1/5Answerer confidence 1/5
Playing your 4th shot on a given hole???


Explanation:
Alright, I'm just embarrassing myself here, so this will be my last guess,
but here goes....

On a given hole, you are playing (making) your fourth shot (attempt, swing, whatever....).



--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 46 mins (2006-08-11 03:49:39 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

Previous, silly guess, "using the 4 iron", deleted.

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 48 mins (2006-08-11 03:51:50 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

Saw your last note after I posted my update. I thinking we're converging on a
consensus (of 2!)

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 55 mins (2006-08-11 03:58:58 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

Where are all the golfers out there?!
OK, from reading the last post your outsourcer sent you, I'm beginning to get a hazy recollection that when lose a ball (in the rough, etc.), which I think they're calling OB(out of bounds), you have to take a penalty(as alluded to in the explanation provided by your outsourcer. Hence, (and now I'm back to guessing), your second shot must be played as your fourth! How's that?
BTW, I don't have enough Kudoz to directly converse with you in the "Ask the Asker" form. Ergo, alll these notes.




Joe L
United States
Local time: 06:32
Works in field
Native speaker of: Native in EnglishEnglish
Login to enter a peer comment (or grade)

53 mins   confidence: Answerer confidence 5/5 peer agreement (net): +3
Zenshin Yonda (also 'Play Four')


Explanation:
Describes when you hit a ball out of bounds from a tee shot, and play on from halfway down the course as if it were your fourth shot.

This is apparently a Japan-only rule.
http://feature.blog-city.com/golf.htm


--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 54 mins (2006-08-11 03:57:40 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

前進4打

--------------------------------------------------
Note added at 1 hr (2006-08-11 04:10:13 GMT)
--------------------------------------------------

ティーショットがOBだった時、原則的には一打罰で打ち直しである。それを、どこの誰が始めたのか知らないがフェアウェイの特設ティなるものから打ち直しさせるという、日本独自の田舎ルール。もちろんplaying fourも和製英語。

http://golfnahibi.uh-oh.jp/jiten2.htm

casey
United States
Local time: 08:32
Specializes in field
Native speaker of: Native in EnglishEnglish
PRO pts in category: 16
Grading comment
Thank you.

Peer comments on this answer (and responses from the answerer)
agree  Joe L: Damn, I did all that sweating, and then you just slip this one in.
12 mins
  -> :D

agree  Will Matter: Yup, Casey is good at this, that's for sure. // Yeah, dang good "guess" amigo. Sure.
41 mins
  -> Nah, I was just bored and looking for something to do.:)

agree  Yasu Hosomatsu: せっかちで、後から来るグループを待たせたくない日本人が作り出した「変な日本的」なルール。
20 hrs
  -> Thanks :)
Login to enter a peer comment (or grade)




Return to KudoZ list


KudoZ™ translation help
The KudoZ network provides a framework for translators and others to assist each other with translations or explanations of terms and short phrases.



See also:



Term search
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search