Your opinion on Across needed
Thread poster: myska
myska
Local time: 05:03
Spanish to English
+ ...
Apr 8, 2009

Hello,

my name is Martina Novotna and I am a postgraduate student of translation at the University of Bristol (England) currently working on a comparative analysis of two translation memory tools: Wordfast and Across. I'm trying to find users' opinion on Across however yahoo groups and other translators forums such as Lantra L didn't yield much of a result and from what I found most of the views were rather negative. I haven't tested the program myself yet but will do so very soon. I know that Across is quite new on the market and I therefore assume that this could explain the lack of users' review. I therefore decided to post my questions on this forum in hope that you could share your experience with me. I hope that you don't mind and I very much hope that you would be willing to provide some opinion on this program. I would appreciate it very much.

Please feel free to be as descriptive as you like.

It should take only few minutes of your time while it would help me enormously in my evaluation and hopefully could influence future improvements of the program.

My main questions are: (I know that there are quite a few and I would be very grateful if you could answer all of them but I would be equally happy for any insight you might have about Across. Therefore do not worry if you can't or don't want to answer all of the questions.)

How long have you been using translation memory tools for? (and for how long have you been using Across?)

Why did you start using translation memory tools?

Why did you choose this program?

Are you satisfied with the program?

What do you like about it?

Is there anything you dislike?

Have you encountered any bugs? And if so, did you find that they were addressed adequately by the support group?