How to recover a deleted project in Across
Thread poster: Nesem

Nesem
Turkey
English to Turkish
+ ...
Mar 5, 2017

Hello everyone,

Is there any way to recover a project deleted accidentally in Across? Thank you in advance.

[Değişiklik saati 2017-03-05 18:45 GMT]


 

Elif Baykara Narbay  Identity Verified
Turkey
Local time: 09:11
German to Turkish
+ ...
Never experienced this problem in Across. Mar 6, 2017

Was it an online/server-based project? In that case, you possibly did not have the admin authorization to delete such a project, so all you need is to retrieve it again. I don't know though if you can rescue any translated content.

If your project was a local one, I believe that you have the find the path for the local projects and reload the project as we do in Studio or memoQ.

The following threads may give an idea about back-up and file paths in Across.

http://www.proz.com/forum/across_support/127589-backup_project_files_in_across.html

http://www.proz.com/forum/across_support/110560-file_locations.html


 

AAV
Local time: 13:11
Stored TM is still there, but project is not Mar 14, 2017

Depends on what type of client you are using and what do you mean under "deleted".
Did you retrieve task from Server as Offline user and deleted it? If so, it is possible to download it again.
Or did you create a project on your local system? In this case, it is not possible to restore project, unless you've created a backup of project manually ("export to file" in the context menu of the project).
However, if any TM was stored during execution of this project, it is still kept in the system, and you will be able to use it, if you create a new project and add same documents again.


 

Nesem
Turkey
English to Turkish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Not sure whether this suggested solution addresses my problem May 8, 2017

Elif Baykara wrote:

Was it an online/server-based project? In that case, you possibly did not have the admin authorization to delete such a project, so all you need is to retrieve it again. I don't know though if you can rescue any translated content.

If your project was a local one, I believe that you have the find the path for the local projects and reload the project as we do in Studio or memoQ.

The following threads may give an idea about back-up and file paths in Across.

http://www.proz.com/forum/across_support/127589-backup_project_files_in_across.html

http://www.proz.com/forum/across_support/110560-file_locations.html


Thank you so much for your trying to help me.

Yes, my project was a local one, I mean I work standalone. However, I am not sure whether your suggested solution including the information found in the links addresses my problem or maybe I do not understand how to apply the information there to recover my project. But still thank you so much.


 

Nesem
Turkey
English to Turkish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Used this method and worked but resulted in another question May 8, 2017

AAV wrote:

Depends on what type of client you are using and what do you mean under "deleted".
Did you retrieve task from Server as Offline user and deleted it? If so, it is possible to download it again.
Or did you create a project on your local system? In this case, it is not possible to restore project, unless you've created a backup of project manually ("export to file" in the context menu of the project).
However, if any TM was stored during execution of this project, it is still kept in the system, and you will be able to use it, if you create a new project and add same documents again.


Thank you so much for trying to help me.

In Across, I work standalone, process my own projects working on Word documents in my computer. So I think it means I created the project on my local system but I did not create a backup. However, I store all my translation works while finishing the tasks . And I realized my translated sentences from this deleted project are still there because I created the project again and my translated sentences appeared as crossTank suggestions as you said.

But actually when I saw that my translated sentences are still there although the project is deleted, this put a question mark, maybe a strange one, in my mind about how Translation Memory/ crossTank function works. I mean I know that no one, even Across, can view/edit/ use/ send/ collect my translation works except me because I work standalone. But when I store my translation works in Across, does it enable for someone, for example any Across user, to view/use my translated works through crossTank or in any way?

Thank you so much for your reply in advance.


 

AAV
Local time: 13:11
Your TM is only yours. May 10, 2017

Noone can view or use your TM, which you've created while working in standalone mode (unless you export them on purpose, e.g. into TMX).
TM is not stored somewhere "at Across", it is stored on your computer only.


 


To report site rules violations or get help, contact a site moderator:


You can also contact site staff by submitting a support request »

How to recover a deleted project in Across

Advanced search






WordFinder Unlimited
For clarity and excellence

WordFinder is the leading dictionary service that gives you the words you want anywhere, anytime. Access 260+ dictionaries from the world's leading dictionary publishers in virtually any device. Find the right word anywhere, anytime - online or offline.

More info »
PerfectIt consistency checker
Faster Checking, Greater Accuracy

PerfectIt helps deliver error-free documents. It improves consistency, ensures quality and helps to enforce style guides. It’s a powerful tool for pro users, and comes with the assurance of a 30-day money back guarantee.

More info »



Forums
  • All of ProZ.com
  • Term search
  • Jobs
  • Forums
  • Multiple search