Thread poster: Diana Gutiérrez

Diana Gutiérrez
Spain
Local time: 22:29
English to Spanish
+ ...
Oct 13, 2009

Hello everyone,

This is a question from a total beginner.

I'm doing a M.A. in Translation and Localization, and we were required to install Alchemy Catalyst (LITE) 7.0 in our computers. After a bit of a chaos with requesting the licence key, I managed to copy it to the right folder and run the program. It should be activated now.

The problem is I get the following error as soon as the program starts:

"Microsoft XML Core Services (MSXML) 4.0, or greater, does not appear to be present.
Please ensure this is installed as Catalyst requires it for certain features to work correctly."

I can still work with the program after that, but it seems that many features are unavailable...

I have a general idea of what MSXML is, but I really don't know what would be best. Should I try and install the Service Pack 3 (which contains a version of MSXML)? Download version 8.0 of Alchemy Catalyst and try my luck with it? Is there any simpler solution?

I use Windows Vista, which has proved to be a pain when it comes to compatibility issues :/

Thank you,
Diana

Direct link Reply with quote

Alchemy Support
Local time: 21:29
English
Download Oct 13, 2009

Hi Diana,

I did a quick search and I found an download link for version 4.0 http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=3144b72b-b4f2-46da-b4b6-c5d7485f2b42&displaylang=en

It is the first time I have seen that issue maybe you could download Catalyst 8 first?

Thanks and regards,
Jette

Diana Gutiérrez
Spain
Local time: 22:29
English to Spanish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thanks, but... Oct 16, 2009

Sadly, installing SP2 for Windows Vista and MSXML 4.0 didn't seem to work, even when I removed the program and re-installed it.

I'll try again with Catalyst 8 this evening :/

There is no moderator assigned specifically to this forum.
To report site rules violations or get help, please contact site staff »