From Independent to In-House translator
Thread poster: Jason Roberts
Jason Roberts  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:55
Dutch to English
+ ...
May 5, 2003

Hello,

I have been an independent translator for some time now, and find that many aspects of it suit me wonderfully. I have even been able to find ways around many of the things I find to be a struggle by cooperating with other independent professionals in marketing, accounting, etc.

Now, however, I find myself in a position to accept a permanent, full-time translation job with an excellent company (not a translation agency). Has anyone out there ever done this? I know lots of people go the other way (from full-time employee to independent) but what are the challenges I might not be able to see going to work for someone full-time? Is it common for companies to require that their translators do no outside work in translation?

-Jason

Direct link Reply with quote

Mónica Machado
United Kingdom
Local time: 15:55
English to Portuguese
+ ...
As far as I know May 5, 2003

Hello,

I have worked in-house and think it is a wonderful experience. Every translator should try this as we do learn a lot about many things including other processes related to translation but that we, translators, don\'t usually do when freelancing.

However, it seems to me that the natural process is to start as an in-house translator and progress to a freelance and independent one, not the opposite. Unless, a translator is not happy with being a freelancer or the opportunity is too great to say no.

However, from my own experience it seems translation companies do require an in-house translator to work for them only. You can try going against this (many might do) but it might however still be against that company\'s rules.

Think carefully and if it is really good don\'t hesitate. Nevertheless, do think whether you will loose clients that might be difficult to get back again in future.

All the best

Mónica

Monika Coulson  Identity Verified