References from agencies
Thread poster: yasmine
yasmine
English to French
Aug 7, 2003

Is it common practice for agencies to provide "references" about their freelance translators, i.e. number of words translated over a period of time and possible comment on quaity ? I'm asking this because I have only worked for agencies so far, an a potential new client requests this kind of reference.

Direct link Reply with quote

Alison Schwitzgebel
France
Local time: 08:56
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
I asked an agency for this type of reference once Aug 7, 2003

When I was just starting out as a translator I had to provide a reference just like this to be allowed to sit my translation exam to get my "official" qualification. I asked the boss of one of the agencies I was working for and they were quite happy to oblige. I can't guarantee that all agencies will cooperate, but it's certainly worth a try.

HTH

Alison

Céline Graciet
Local time: 07:56
English to French
Why not? Aug 7, 2003

Hi, when I had a quiet couple of months last year I used that time to contact a couple of agencies I've been working with asking them for a reference. I made sure to ask a PM who I had done a lot of work with and they were very happy to oblige. Those references have actually been quite handy since, I think they're quite useful to have. If you have a good working relationship with your agencies/PMs, I don't see why it should be a problem.

Have a lovely day/night/whatever all!

Céline

Narasimhan Raghavan  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:26
English to Tamil
+ ...
This is how I landed a job Aug 7, 2003