Certified translation for the US?
Thread poster: Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger
Kim Metzger  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 06:41
German to English
Dec 19, 2003

I've just been asked to provide a certified translation of a German divorce decree for a client living in the US. The client explains:
"In order for the document to be recognized for immigration matters it has to be a certified translation. In other words the person translating has to certify that it is a true translation and have that notarized or stamped. I attach the document for your viewing."
Here are the issues:
1. I am an ATA-certified translator but have never before
... See more
I've just been asked to provide a certified translation of a German divorce decree for a client living in the US. The client explains:
"In order for the document to be recognized for immigration matters it has to be a certified translation. In other words the person translating has to certify that it is a true translation and have that notarized or stamped. I attach the document for your viewing."
Here are the issues:
1. I am an ATA-certified translator but have never before looked into what a 'certified translation" is and whether I'm authorized to certify anything.
2. I live in Mexico, so the notary would be Mexican - or maybe the US Consulate.

Does anybody know anything about this? Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Kim
Collapse

Lucinda Hollenberg
Lucinda Hollenberg  Identity Verified
Local time: 09:41
Dutch to English
+ ...
I provide a certification Dec 19, 2003

Kim,

I am not sure that this is valid for all states, but for the California Courts, I have prepared a certification statement that I fill out and sign and then send to the client by regular mail. In the meantime that the snail mail goes, I fax it so that they have something to start working with - it is not official but the client/client's lawyer adds a note that the original is forthcoming.