Can a US freelancer be a sworn translator in another country?
Thread poster: Steven Capsuto

Steven Capsuto  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:13
Spanish to English
+ ...
Dec 29, 2003

I'm a freelancer in the U.S., and occasionally am tempted to bid on overseas jobs (usually for EU countries) that need a sworn translation. Most of the jobs are from Spain, though some are from other countries. Is it possible for me to become a sworn/public translator for another country, perhaps through the local Spanish/French/etc. consulate in my home city?

Direct link Reply with quote

Jane Lamb-Ruiz  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
every country has its own standards Dec 29, 2003

If you live in the country and take the test you can.

I don't believe you can take a test through a consulate.

Find out via google what the deal is for a specific country. Tests are taken in-country as it were. I don't know if someone countries require nationality. I would not imagine so. Most probably just require you to take it at the official place it is given.

Cheers

United States
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Dec 29, 2003

I've done some more nosing around, and it turns out that only EU citizens are eligible to be sworn translators for Spain.

Un saludo.

mbc
Spain
Local time: 08:13
Spanish to English
+ ...
not in Spain w/o EU citizenship Dec 29, 2003

in order to be a sworn translator in spain, actually in order to take the exam, you must have EU nationality.

good luck!

Edward Potter  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
How to become a sworn translator in Spain. Dec 29, 2003

You can almost forget it. There are 2 ways in Spain to become an officially sworn translator:

1) Get a five-year translation degree with an emphasis on legal translation from a school officially recognized by the Spanish government (there are about 5 in Spain).
2) Pass the test.