Both a freelancer and a company. How do you market yourself?
Thread poster: Ieva Englund

Ieva Englund
Sweden
Local time: 21:43
Swedish to Latvian
+ ...
Apr 14, 2008

Hello

I find it difficult to market myself as a freelancer and to represent a company as well. It would probably be best to concentrate on developing the business only, but this freelancing is fun too. Some clients want exclusively "a freelancer".

Once you respond a as company you might not get a project because of the higher prices. Coming as a freelancer you might get "disqualified" because of the capacity once the client is ready to buy a project with several languages.

I see that there are many of you running your own companies. Do you freelance as well? Do you offer different prices to different clients from differnt countries? Would be interesting to hear your experience.

/Ieva

Direct link Reply with quote

xxx1279
Local time: 15:43
Hire yourself Apr 14, 2008

I'm a freelancer who has never tried to run an agency, but here's an idea. Focus on marketing your business, and then if the business receives work in your language pairs that you are qualified to do, you could do the project yourself. I kind of assume that's what a lot of translators in your position do. Maybe you'll get some more replies from other individuals in dual roles...

Oleg Rudavin  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 22:43
Member (2003)
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
These are different market segments Apr 15, 2008

Hi Ieva,

The problems you face have to do with the fact that companies and freelancers target different segments of the translation market.

A company would provide translations to MLV's and large-soze direct clients. As a company, you will be doing TEP (translation/editing/proofreading) at least and sometimes DTP, and your counterpart will expect you to deliver the final version of the file. All of it is reflected in the rate.