Working with clients in Europe when you're based in the US
Thread poster: Sarah Downing

Sarah Downing  Identity Verified
Local time: 06:16
German to English
+ ...
Apr 14, 2008

Dear fellow translators,

In the short- to medium-term, it is probable that my American boyfriend and I may move to the USA. Seeing as I have been freelancing for seven years now and it's going really quite well, it's not something that I'd like to give up. The vast majority of my customers are based in Germany, many of whom I've been working with for years and who give me a nice amount of regular work.

In terms of my client base, I am happy with my existing customers and would like to keep them when I move. My question is to translators based in the US who work with European customers. How do you cope with the time difference? I figure that I would be between six and nine hours behind, depending on where my sweetheart gets a job, but that would mean that when the German working day starts (mostly 9 am), it would be between 12 and 3 am my time. Obviously, I don't want to turn into a vampire and have my nights turn into days, particularly as I currently have a life and don't plan on giving it up:-).

My concern is the inevitable delay in replying to enquiries/Anfragen. Obviously, same-day rush jobs would be a no-go, but I'm not really that sad about that one. US translators: are European customers generally understanding of the delay, once they know what your working hours are? I know that it would probably be a good idea to start work earlier (e.g. 6 am instead of between 8 and 9 am), but there would still be a delay either way.

Perhaps I am worrying needlessly (I hope I am), but I would be very grateful for any tips or experiences you have had in a similar situation.

Thank you very much and have a nice week!

Sarah Downing

Direct link Reply with quote

Mikhail Kropotov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 14:16
Member (2005)
English to Russian
+ ...