Thread poster: Heinrich Pesch

Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 06:50
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
May 29, 2008

One thing is for sure: if you are an outsourcer and have a demanding translation job at hand into rare languages and require the use of rare software, you can be sure not to recieve too many bids. This agency today posted a job for translation a highly technical text into a lot of rare target languages and restricted the job to users of Across.

Regards
Heinrich

Direct link Reply with quote

Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 05:50
English to French
What about Trados certified? May 29, 2008

I saw the first one in my language pairs restricting the job to translators who have Trados certification. The offer title looked promising, but I couldn't bid if I wanted to (I no longer was interested when I saw the rate offered), even though I have been using Trados daily (excluding Sundays) for the past 8 years.

I suppose that restricting jobs to members only yields too many replies in common languages; maybe outsourcers try to further restrict the response tidal wave with whatever deterring requirement that limits the amount of replies.

Regards,
Philippe

Vito Smolej
Germany
Member (2004)
English to Slovenian
+ ...
So... May 29, 2008

.... This agency today posted a job for translation a highly technical text into a lot of rare target languages and restricted the job to users of Across....

They for sure will have to face the reality, i.e. the buyer's market: tell us your price, Heinrich.

Regards

PS: hint: adding Accross to the DE <> SF would definitely not hurt, dont you think so?

[Edited at 2008-05-29 20:47]

megane_wang  Identity Verified
Spain
English to Spanish
+ ...
That's right, sometimes it makes no sense May 29, 2008

Philippe Etienne wrote: