Certificate of translation correctness
Thread poster: Marisa Condurso de Nohara

Marisa Condurso de Nohara  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 19:17
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jun 21, 2008

I have been working for the same end client for many, many years. We had agreed that each time I deemed it necessary I would suggest the comany's Medical Advisers to "take a glance" at some terms for the sake of medical/pharmacological/chemical correctness, especially because all materials are shared by many Latin American subsidiaries. Now, they have to meet new Company's requirements (I suppose) so my main contact is asking me to send him "any kind" of certification to endorse the correctness of my translation of a large bilingüal site on a medical condition. In my country, Argentina, certificates for transaltors are issued by the College of Sworn/Public/Legal Translators, but these do not certify the correctness of the translation but that the translator is a proven professional.
I have never experienced this kind of request by any client at all, and before replying to my client, I would appreciate my colleagues' advise and "enlightment" about this subject:

1)Have you ever been asked for such a certificate? 2)Does any Argentine colleague know of any body that could certify my correctness? 3) Don't you think that, should I find this certification, I should also protect myself from any alledged mistake or lack of accuracy taking into account that Spanish varies within the Latin American world and particularly when dealing with medical/pharmaceutical terminology?

By Monday or so, I should be in a position to answer this request, either with a "what you are asking me does not exist" or "you will soon receive the requested certificate".