Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What is the "due time" on your "due date"?
Thread poster: Deborah Hoffman
Deborah Hoffman  Identity Verified

Local time: 17:09
Russian to English
+ ...
Sep 21, 2008

Hello all, I have a question that I'm embarrassed to say never occurred to me before. I had been blindly thinking that if a deadline was for a particular day, that close of business (in the U.S. this is around 5pm) was fine. (Taking into account an 8 hour time difference, my actual deadline is either very early morning or the night before if I'd like to sleep in). However I received an anxious email at midnight (8:15 am over there on the due date) and am wondering whether different locales view the due time as morning rather than close of business? Interested in any and all answers.

Direct link Reply with quote

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:09
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
EOB unless specified Sep 21, 2008

End of business day is what our customers expect. If they need the text during the day at some specific time, they tell us at the time of ordering.

Marijke Singer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:09
Dutch to English
+ ...
EOB minus an hour Sep 21, 2008

Tomás Cano Binder wrote:

End of business day is what our customers expect. If they need the text during the day at some specific time, they tell us at the time of ordering.

Same here except I always think they actually want to do something with the document on that same day so I deliver an hour before EOB.

Astrid Elke Witte  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2002)
German to English
+ ...
It varies Sep 21, 2008

I have had clients on the phone at 10 a.m., telling me to hurry up, when they had not specified the time on that day. Otherwise, I assume that at around lunchtime or early afternoon, shortly after the lunch break, is fine, also believing that they want to do something with the document on the same day.