https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/11952-free_translations.html

free translations
Thread poster: Céline Graciet
Céline Graciet
Céline Graciet
Local time: 19:48
English to French
Jun 19, 2003

Hi all, I got an email this afternoon from a company asking me to do a tiny job for them (7 words, very easy) and would there be a charge. I gasped at such impudence and sent an email back quoting my minimum charge. They got back to me saying that they got their other languages for free and would I be willing to reconsider. I replied saying that I was a professional and only did free translations for non-profit organisations whose work I'm keen to help.

Now I really thought long and
... See more
Hi all, I got an email this afternoon from a company asking me to do a tiny job for them (7 words, very easy) and would there be a charge. I gasped at such impudence and sent an email back quoting my minimum charge. They got back to me saying that they got their other languages for free and would I be willing to reconsider. I replied saying that I was a professional and only did free translations for non-profit organisations whose work I'm keen to help.

Now I really thought long and hard about this. First, it would have taken me two minutes at the most to do this job, and I'm not very busy. Second, I might have made a useful contact. However, I thought it was ridiculous that a business tried to avoid forking out the humongous sum of £25 and I thought it was quite disrespectful of our profession. So I said no, very politely.

I would really like to have your opinion on this issue and what you would have done in the same situation.

Thanks,

Céline
Collapse

Paul Lambert
Paul Lambert  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:48
French to English
+ ...
It would depend on the business Jun 19, 2003