https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/129122-being_%22dismissed%22_from_an_agency.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2 3] >
Being "dismissed" from an agency
Thread poster: J Chae (X)
J Chae (X)
J Chae (X)  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 11:01
English to Korean
+ ...
Mar 4, 2009

The economy's in bad shape. That's not enough: I've recently been "dismissed" from an agency I had been working with for two years. Let's start with the end.

...we have decided that we can no longer provide you with work. This is not due to the quality of your proof, but rather to the manner in which you responded to the feedback. We are... (omitted) ...and we will not accept rud... See more
The economy's in bad shape. That's not enough: I've recently been "dismissed" from an agency I had been working with for two years. Let's start with the end.

...we have decided that we can no longer provide you with work. This is not due to the quality of your proof, but rather to the manner in which you responded to the feedback. We are... (omitted) ...and we will not accept rude treatment of... (omitted) ...we have to work as a team and respect one another at all times. We feel you have not demonstrated that respect.

Please accept this as your notice of dismissal. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

Now that was flagrant. How did this happen? Here's the story.

A week ago I received an evaluation report from this agency, which result unfortunately I couldn't agree with. "The evaluation found that your English comprehension and knowledge of your native language were not up to standard," now that's a whoah, but that's still ok. It's not the first time I faced jumpy observation. More problematic was its underlying reasoning. It provided some evidence, sure but nothing that could lead to such insulting (yes!) observation.