https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/131456-doing_work_while_traveling.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Doing work while traveling
Thread poster: Kathryn Litherland
Kathryn Litherland
Kathryn Litherland  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 03:29
Member (2007)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 28, 2009

This question just occurred to me--if I am a freelancer based in a particular country, and I am traveling primarily for pleasure: to what extent am I free to fire up the ole laptop and do some work for my clients without running afoul of anyone's work permit regulations? Does it matter if the client in question is located in the country to which I am traveling?

Henry Hinds
Henry Hinds  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:29
English to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Who knows? Mar 28, 2009

I suppose if no one really knows where you are, and no one has to, then go ahead and fire it up and do your thing. The money goes in the same direction regardless of where you are. It does not seem to be anything to worry about, but every country has its own rules so technically who knows? Or who cares?

clifts
clifts  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 15:29
English to Chinese
+ ...
possibly not necessary Mar 28, 2009

According to my experience, in my country, China, if you travel and work for freelance jobs, the authority would not disturb you unless you report to them that you are not travelling but working here in general.

I do believe a permit is really required for an inhouse employment in most countries and not required for freelance jobs since it is difficult to determine whether you are travelling or working in stead.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:29
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
You as a business - You as a person Mar 28, 2009