What's the agreement between translator and end user?
Thread poster: worldevolved

worldevolved
United States
Local time: 02:06
Jun 2, 2009

Hi,

I am new to Proz, and I can find an appropriate place to post. So I decide to post on the first one. Let me know if you think there is more appropriate place to post this.

I posted a translation job for my client. But they have questions on Non-disclosure Agreement (NDA). So is it typical here to have default NDA agreement on the between translator and end user? They want their content to be translated, but they are not public yet and they do not want that to be leaked out before they launch. If so, what's the typical process on doing that? Should I just email the translator the doc and s/he sign and email back? Please let me know, and many thanks,

Ming

Niina Lahokoski  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 09:06
Member (2008)
English to Finnish
+ ...
NDA Jun 3, 2009

If you outsource the translation to another translator, he/she will have to sign the NDA, too. I think the outsourcers/agencies often have their own NDA which covers also the confidential information of their clients, and the translator signs it.

NMR (X)
France
Local time: 08:06
French to Dutch
+ ...
There's no contractual relationship between the end client and the translator Jun 11, 2009

worldevolved wrote:
So is it typical here to have default NDA agreement on the between translator and end user? They want their content to be translated, but they are not public yet and they do not want that to be leaked out before they launch. If so, what's the typical process on doing that? Should I just email the translator the doc and s/he sign and email back? Please let me know, and many thanks,

Ming

If the agency (you) and the translator are two independent entities, there is no contractal relationship between the translator and the end client. Your translator will be working for you.